AFL Grand Final

The McClelland Trophy

The McClelland Trophy

The AFL Grand Final – the two top footy teams in the league pitted against one another, in front of a sell out crowd of highly vocal fans, in a showdown of grit and determination. What more could any sports fan want!

Traditionally taking place on the final Saturday every September, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG and widely regarded as the biggest single sporting event on the Australian calendar. The winner of the match is awarded the highly coveted AFL Premiership Cup – a goal for every team at the tail end of the year.

At the end of the normal season which is made up of 22 rounds, the teams making up the top eight on the ladder move through to the knockout finals series which lasts for four weeks, before culminating in the desired AFL Grand Final.

With the game taking on such intense importance among AFL and sport fans around the country, it is the perfect time to place a punt, with highly lucrative odds offered at online betting sites!

2017 AFL Grand Final

The 2017 AFL Grand Final will be held on September 30th – Kicking off at 2:30pm AEST at the MCG.

Teams: Adelaide Crows vs. Richmond Tigers

Kick off time in capital cities:

  • Melbourne 2:30pm
  • Sydney 2:30pm
  • Brisbane 2:30pm
  • Adelaide 2:00pm
  • Canberra 2:00pm
  • Perth 12:30pm
  • Darwin 2:00pm
  • Hobart 2:30pm

The best place to find betting information and grab the best bonuses for this year’s AFL Grand Final visit

Betting on the AFL Grand Final

With such a prestigious event as the AFL Grand Final, it is the perfect opportunity for true blue Aussies to get their wallet out and show loyalty to their team. It does not matter what time of year you feel the inclination to back your side, as online bookmakers have markets open as to which side will take home the flag come the end of the season before the season even bounces off. Remember – the earlier in the season you bet, the higher the payout, so when the AFL Grand Final comes about you could be winning more than you expected!

2013 AFL Premiers Hawthorn celebrate after the match. Source: Elite Sports

2013 AFL Premiers Hawthorn celebrate after the match. Source: Elite Sports

Along with the AFL Grand final winning team, you can also punt on whether or not your side will make it to the AFL Grand Final itself. The odds change from round to round, and so the bets get safer, but if you are confident early, place your bet before you see the odds go down.

Online bookies such as offer a great variation of markets and odds to the avid AFL punter, and so when the AFL Grand Final preview comes around, check out the great range they have on offer. Many fans often prefer the exotic bets, such as: the player to get the most possessions, player to score the most, or the individual team scorelines.

Another favourite is punting on the player to win the Norm Smith Medal. Awarded to the player judged by a panel of experts to have been the best player throughout the match, the Norm Smith Medal is one of the most prestigious individual accolades in the AFL, and another popular betting opportunity at Ladbrokes.

AFL Grand Final History

Since the establishment of the AFL in 1990 – a move which made the competition a truly national event – the previously Victorian dominated Premiership has seen teams from other states claim the ultimate prize 10 times since.

In the 1990s, the AFL Grand Final did not bring about any thrilling games with the Eagles and North Melbourne the two more successful sides of the decade. However the New Millennium brought about some more interesting finishes.

The Brisbane Lions won three consecutive finals from 2001 – 2003, with the 2002 AFL Grand Final seeing the long outsiders Collingwood push the Lions to the very end in a superb example of top quality footy. Sydney and the West Coast formed a fierce rivalry over the 2005 and 2006 AFL Grand Finals, with the two forming the line-ups both years and saw one flag apiece. Geelong was a part of the 2007, 2008 and 2009 finals, losing the 2008 AFL Grand Final to Hawthorn, although claiming the other two.

Super Bowl XLVII

Super Bowl XLVII is the American version of the AFL Grand Final and is taking place at Mercedes-Benz Superdome on the 3rd of February (AEST). This year the Super Bowl will be decided between the Baltimore Ravens  and the San Francisco 49ers in what should be an enthralling game.

Results Of The AFL Grand Final

Year Winner Score Runner Up Norm Smith Medallist
2014 Hawthorne 21.11(137) def. 11.8(74) Sydney Luke Hodge
2013 Hawthorn 11.11(77) def. 8.14(62) Fremantle Brian Lake
2012 Sydney 14.7(91) def. 11.15(81) Hawthorn Ryan O’Keefe
2011 Geelong 18.11(119) def. 12.9(81) Collingwood Jimmy Bartel
2010 Collingwood 16.12(108) def. 7.10(52) St Kilda Scott Pendlebury (Lenny Hayes)
2009 Geelong 12.8(80) def. 9.14(68) St Kilda Paul Chapman
2008 Hawthorn 18.7(115) def. 11.23(89) Geelong Luke Hodge
2007 Geelong 24.19(163) def. 6.8(44) Port Adelaide Steve Johnson
2006 West Coast 12.13(85) def. 12.12(84) Sydney Andrew Embley
2005 Sydney 8.10(58) def. 7.12(54) West Coast Chris Judd
2004 Port Adelaide 17.11(113) def. 10.13(73) Brisbane Lions Byron Pickett
2003 Brisbane Lions 20.14(134) def. 12.12(84) Collingwood Simon Black
2002 Brisbane Lions 10.15(75) def. 9.12(66) Collingwood Nathan Buckley
2001 Brisbane Lions 15.18(108) def. 12.10(82) Essendon Shaun Hart
2000 Essendon 19.21(135) def. 11.9(75) Melbourne James Hird
1999 North Melbourne 19.10(124) def. 12.17(89) Carlton Shannon Grant
1998 Adelaide 15.15(105) def. 8.22(70) North Melbourne Andrew McLeod
1997 Adelaide 19.11(125) def. 13.16(94) St Kilda Andrew McLeod
1996 North Melbourne 19.17(131) def. 13.10(88) Sydney Glenn Archer
1995 Carlton 21.15(141) def. 11.14(80) Geelong Greg Williams
1994 West Coast 20.23(143) def. 8.15(63) Geelong Dean Kemp
1993 Essendon 20.13(133) def. 13.11(89) Carlton Michael Long
1992 West Coast 16.17(113) def. 12.13(85) Geelong Peter Matera
1991 Hawthorn 20.19(139) def. 13.8(86) West Coast Paul Dear
1990 Collingwood 13.11(89) def. 5.11(41) Essendon Tony Shaw

In 2010, Collingwood and St Kilda tied at 68 points each (9.14, 10.8 respectively) with Lenny Hayes receiving the Norm Smith Medal in the initial game. In the rematch, which Collingwood won, Scott Pendlebury was awarded the medal.