2008 Collingwood Magpies Team

The Collingwood Magpies are a Victorian-based Aussie Rules football team that compete in the AFL. The club has enjoyed many successful and consistent seasons, including their 2008 season.

The 2008 Collingwood Magpies team, captained by Scott Burns, managed to finish fifth on the ladder at the end of the season, knocked out of the competition in the Semi Finals round when they lost to the St Kilda Saints.

In 2008, Dane Swan won the ‘Copeland Trophy’ for the club best and fairest player from the Magpies team for the season. Swan was one of 37 players enlisted in the Collingwood club for the year, the full 2008 Collingwood Magpies team listed below.

Each season the club makes a number of changes to their team line-up, so before having a punt on the Maggies this year through Ladbrokes.com.au check out the 2010 Collingwood Magpies Team, then you are ready to Bet on the AFL!

Number Player Position
1 Leon Davis Midfield, Forward
2 Sean Rusling Forward
3 Ryan Lonie Midfield
4 Alan Didak Midfield, Forward
5 Nick Maxwell Defender
6 Brodie Holland Midfield
7 Paul Medhurst Forward
8 Harry O’Brien Defender
9 John Anthony Forward
10 Scott Pendlebury Midfield
11 Shane O’Bree Midfiled
12 Shannon Cox Defender
13 Dale Thomas Forward
14 Shane Wakelin Defender
15 Chris Egan Forward
16 Nathan Brown Defender
17 Scott Burns (c) Midfield
18 Martin Clarke Ruck
19 Cameron Wood Ruck
20 Ben Reid Forward
21 Sharrod Wellingham Midfield
22 Rhyce Shaw Defender
23 Anthony Rocca Forward
24 Tarkyn Lockyer Forward
25 Josh Fraser Ruck
26 Ben Johnson Midfield
27 John McCarthy Midfield
28 Danny Stanley Midfield
29 Ryan Cook Midfield
31 Chris Dawes Forward
32 Travis Cloke Forward
34 Alan Toovey Defender
35 Simon Prestigiacomo Defender
36 Dane Swan Midfield
38 Tyson Goldsack Defender
39 Heath Shaw Defender
40 Chris Bryan Ruck
COACH: Mick Malthouse