2009 Essendon Bombers Team

The 2009 home and away season was mostly a success for the Essendon Bombers. They were the only team that year to defeat the top ranked St Kilda Saints, which was certainly a highlight for many Essendon fans. The team finished at number eight on the ladder, earning a spot in the Finals.

Though they had earned their place among the Top 8, it came at a heavy price as they lost skipper Matthew Lloyd, ruckman Patrick Ryder, and midfielder Sam Lonergran. With their depleted squad they didn’t make it past the first round of the Finals, falling to the Adelaide Crows in one of their worst performances in Finals history.

That 2009 team is listed below. Many of the players are still a part of the 2010 Essendon Bombers team. Continue to show your support by getting to Ladbrokes.com.au to back them in their next home fixture. You’ll find the best odds, and it couldn’t be easier to sign up and place your bets.


1 Jay Neagle Forward
2 Ricky Dyson Midfield
3 Scott Gumbleton Forward
4 Jobe Watson Midfield
5 Brent Stanton Midfield
6 Angus Monfries Forward
7 Leroy Jetta Forward
8 Jason Winderlich Midfield
9 Brent Prismall Midfield
10 Mark McVeight Midfield
11 David Zaharakis Midfield
12 Andrew Welsh Midfield
14 Sam Lonergran Midfield
15 Courtenay Dempsey Defender
16 Tayte Pears Defender
18 Michael Hurley Defender
19 David Hille Ruckman
20 Henry Slattery Midfield
23 David Myers Defender
24 John Williams Midfield
25 Scott Lucas Forward
26 Cale Hooker Defender
27 Jason Laycock Ruckman
28 Darcy Daniher Defender, Forward
29 Alwyn Davey Forward
30 Paddy Ryder Ruckman
31 Dustin Fletcher Defender
33 Adam McPhee Defender
35 Michael Still Forward
36 Kyle Reimers Forward
38 Jarrod Atkinson Defender
39 Heath Hocking Midfield
42 Nathan Lovett-Murray Defender
43 Bachar Houli Defender, Midfield
44 Tom Bellchampers Ruckman
COACH: Matthew Knights