2008 Geelong Cats Team

The Geelong Cats team were superb in 2008 ending the regular AFL season on top of the ladder – resulting in a second consecutive McClelland Trophy. It was a superb season of 21 wins and just a single loss, and while powering through the qualifying and preliminary finals lost out to the Hawthorn Hawks in the 2008 AFL Grand Final.

The 2008 Cats were skippered by the All-Australian Tom Harley who led his team to two premierships from the defence and has since retired, however many of the squad from 2008 still represent the Geelong Cats today, so head to Ladbrokes.com.au and back the talented Cats the next time they take to the ovals!

Number Player Position
1 Jason Davenport Forward
2 Tom Harley Defender
3 Jimmy Bartel Midfielder
4 Andrew Mackie Defender
5 Travis Varcoe Forward
6 Brad Ottens Ruck
7 Taylor Harry Defender
8 Josh Hunt Defender
9 James Kelly Defender, Midfielder
10 Kane Tenace Midfielder
11 Joel Corey Midfielder
12 Trent West Ruck
13 Tom Lonergan Forward
14 Joel Selwood Midfielder
15 Ryan Gamble Forward
16 Dawson Simpson Ruck
17 Shannon Byrnes Forward
18 Nathan Djerrkura Midfielder
19 Matthew Egan Defender
20 Steve Johnson Forward
21 Cameron Mooney Forward
23 Nathan Ablett Forward
24 Mark Blake Ruck
26 Tom Hawkins Forward
27 Matthew Stokes Forward
28 David Johnson Midfielder
29 Gary Ablett Midfielder
30 Matthew Scarlett Defender
32 Brent Prismall Midfielder
33 Max Rooke Forward
34 Simon Hogan Midfielder
35 Paul Chapman Midfielder, Forward
36 Brodie Moles* Midfielder, Forward
37 Jeremy Laidler* Utility
38 Chris Kangars* Defender
39 Darren Milburn Defender
40 David Wojcinski Defender
41 Shane Mumford* Ruck
42 Liam Bedford* Utility
44 Corey Enright Defender
45 Cameron Ling Midfielder