2009 Melbourne Demons Team

2009 was a bit of a rebuilding year for the Melbourne Demons as they shifted their focus on getting the club out of their financial woes and building up a squad of young, talented players. Midway through the season, it looked like their efforts were starting to pay off as they had cut down on their debt and began showing some fighting spirit on the field. This drew in record numbers of Melbourne Demons’ members as fans got behind the team to show their support.

In the end, the club was only able to win four games for the second consecutive year. Though they finished 16th on the AFL ladder, their poor season guaranteed them the priority pick in the 2010 draft. The rebuilding effort has continued into 2010, but Melbourne fans continue to support the team. You too can show your support by backing them in their next home fixture at Ladbrokes.com.au. This online sportsbook offers better odds than the TAB, and, as it is so quick to create an account, you can bet on AFL matches in no time!

1 Simon Buckley Midfield
2 Nathan Jones Midfield
3 Clint Bartram Defender
4 Jack Watts Forward
5 Brock McLean Midfield
6 Matthew Bate Forward
7 Brad Miller Forward
8 James Frawley Defender
10 Cale Morton Midfield
11 Paul Johnson Ruckman
12 Colin Sylvia Midfield, Forward
14 Lynden Dunn Midfield
15 Ricky Petterd Midfield, Forward
16 Jack Grimes Defender
18 Brad Green Midfield
19 Addam Maric Forward
20 Colin Garland Defender
21 Daniel Bell Defender
22 Brent Moloney Midfield
23 James McDonald Midfield
24 Russell Robertson Forward
25 Kyle Cheney Defender
27 Jared Rivers Defender
29 Michael Newton Forward
30 Tom McNamara Defender
31 Paul Wheatley Defender
32 Cameron Bruce Midfield
34 Stefan Martin Defender
36 Aaron Davey Midfield
37 Matthew Warnock Defender
39 Neville Jetta Midfield
40 Mark Jamar Ruckman
41 Rohan Bail Midfield
42 Jake Spencer Ruckman
43 Jamie Bennell Midfield
44 Shane Valenti Midfield
45 Matthew Whelan Defender
48 Liam Jurrah Forward
49 Jordie McKenzie Midfield
COACH: Dean Bailey