St Kilda Saints

The St Kilda Football Club is known by many as the Saints, and based in Melbourne Victoria, are named after the suburb of St Kilda. Founded in 1873, the Saints have won just a single premiership flag, which epitomises their reputation of being underachievers despite being a foundation team.

St Kilda Saints Information

Established: 1873
Home Ground: Etihad Stadium
Colours: Red, Black And White
Mascot: Trevor
Number of Premierships Won: One (1966)
Number of Minor Premierships Won: Three (1965, 1997 & 2009)


St Kilda Football Club was established in 1873 and four years later became a foundation team of the VFA (Victorian Football Association), consequently the VFL (Victorian Football League) and most recently the AFL (Australian Football League). In 1907 the Saints made their first appearance in the finals after a string of six consecutive wins at the start of the season, although lost to Carlton by 58 points.

The 1920’s brought about a bleak period for the Saints as they had fallen into recess during 1916 and 1917 due to World War I finishing bottom of the ladder in 1920 and 1924, although began to peak again towards the end of the decade. The 1930’s and 1940’s were strong years for the club, constantly vying for a spot in the finals, although the 1955 season saw one of the worst seasons for the team. The dismal year resulted in one of the biggest clean-outs of players in the history of any AFL club with just 17 players making the transition to the 1956 season with 11 new faces starting.

The 1960’s were a good few years for the club and saw them claim their first minor premiership in 1965, followed by their first premiership title in 1966. The 1970’s started strong for the Saints with three consecutive finals appearances although it did not last with 1974 bringing about a finishing in the lower half of the ladder – where the Saints had not been since the 50’s. The highlight of the 1980’s came about with the Brownlow Medal awarded to Saint Tony Lockett after winning the Coleman medal in 1987.

With the establishment of the AFL in 1990 St Kilda were impressive and won their first pre-season cup in 1996, their second minor premiership in 1997 and from then to the end of the 90’s were a force to be reckoned with. Since the New Millennium, St Kilda have been successful – winning their third pre season cup in 2008, their third minor premiership in 2009 along with making the Grand Final in the same year.

Emblem, Colours & Guernseys

The emblem for St Kilda is made up of the prominent colours of the club being red, black and white. Having more-or-less stayed the same since 1980, the emblem is that of a black cross on a white background with a red border along the top with the initials St. K.F.C written in white. The Latin ‘Fortius Quo Fidelius’ is written on a floating ribbon below which translates to Strength Through Loyalty.

The colours are of course reflected in the club’s jerseys, which are of three vertical stripes going from red to white and then black from left to right of the jumper, and while it may have altered dramatically over the years, still maintains the Saints’ colours.


St Kilda’s mascot is of course Trevor ‘Saint’ Kilda the oval-side favourite Saint. Named after celebrated St Kilda player Trevor Barker, Trevor ‘Saint’ Kilda is a real favourite in the Mascot Manor.

Best Bet To Make

When it comes to punting on St Kilda, a top four bet for 2010 is a strong possibility considering they are currently there – with a minor premiership still on the cards. Winning the flag is another wager punters should consider, with the home and away grounds not affecting their form seeing the Saints have lost away from home just twice this season. Do not forget offer the best weekly odds for the AFL season – signing up just takes a matter of minutes and then you are free to wager away on the upcoming finals.