2009 St Kilda Saints Team

The squad which made up the 2009 St Kilda Saints team was truly superb. Skippered by the ever inspirational Nick Riewoldt up front, the Saints finished the regular season minor premiers, and strung together a club record of 19 wins from the first bounce to round 19. The team made it through to the 2009 AFL Grand Final but lost out to the Geelong Cats by 12 points.

Below is listed the strong squad of the Saint Kilda Saints for 2009, and while a few have left and some more arrived – many of the players below still represent the Saints today. So if you have not already then check our Bet on AFL page, then head to Ladbrokes.com.au and prove your loyalty to the Saints fighting today!

Number Player Position
1 Jason Gram Defender, Midfielder
2 Steven King Ruck
3 Xavier Clarke Defender, Midfielder
5 Ben McEvoy Ruck
6 Leigh Fisher Defender
7 Lenny Hayes Midfielder
10 Steven Baker Defender
11 Leigh Montagna Midfielder
12 Nick Riewoldt Forward
13 Adam Schneider Forward
14 Luke Ball Midfielder
15 Michael Gardiner Ruck
16 Raphael Clarke Defender
17 Colm Begley Utility
18 Brendon Goddard Defender, Midfielder
19 Sam Gilbert Defender
20 David Armitage Midfielder
21 Nick Heyne Forward
22 Farren Ray Midfielder
23 Justin Koschitzke Forward
24 Sean Dempster Defender
25 Sam Fisher Defender
26 Nick Dal Santo Midfielder
27 Jason Blake Defender
28 Rhys Stanley Ruck
29 Tom Lynch Forward
30 Brad Howard* Midfielder
31 Matthew Maguire Defender
32 Andrew McQualter Forward
33 James Gwilt Defender, Forward
34 Jack Steven Midfielder
37 Eljay Connors Midfielder
38 Clinton Jones Midfielder
39 Alistair Smith Midfielder
40 Robert Eddy Midfielder
41 Paul Cahill Forward
42 Jarryn Geary Defender
43 Zac Dawson* Defender
44 Stephen Milne Forward
45 Luke Miles* Midfielder
46 Khan Haretu*ku Defender, Forward
47 Tom Simpkin* Defender
48 Blake McGrath* Ruck
49 Steven Gaertner* Defender
50 Ross Tungatulum* Forward