2008 Sydney Swans Team

Based in New South Wales, the Sydney Swans are a quality Aussie Rules football team that compete in the AFL competition and who have won one AFL premiership title to date.

The 2008 Sydney Swans team finished sixth on the ladder and made it all the way through to the Semi Finals, where they were knocked out of the competition by the Western Bulldogs.

Coached by the great Aussie Rules legend Paul Roos, the 2008 Sydney Swans team was co-captained by Brett Kirk, Leo Barry and Craig Bolton.

The captains are just three of the star players that made up the squad, other standout Swan players for the 2008 season being Best and Fairer player Jarrad McVeigh and leading goalkicker for the seventh straight year Barry Hall.

Below is the complete 2008 Sydney Swans team, but don’t forget to check out the current 2010 Sydney Swans squad before heading to Ladbrokes.com.au to Bet on the AFL.

Number Player Position
1 Barry Hall Forward
2 Nick Davis Midfield
3 Jarrad McVeigh Midfield
4 Ben Mathews Midfield
5 Ryan O’Keefe Midfield, Forward
6 Craig Bolton Defender
7 Luke Brennan Defender
9 Nick Malceski Defender
10 Peter Everitt Ruck
11 Ed Barlow Midfield
12 Nic Fosdike Midfield
13 Patrick Veszpremi Forward
14 Craig Bird Midfield
15 Kieran Jack Midfield
16 Darren Jolly Ruck
17 Tadhg Kennelly Defender
18 Jesse White Ruck
19 Michael O’Loughlin Forward
20 Luke Ablett Midfield
21 Leo Barry Defender
24 Jude Bolton Midfield
25 Ted Richards Defender
26 Henry Playfair Forward
28 Jared Crouch Midfield
29 Martin Mattner Defender
30 Lewis Roberts-Thomson Defender
31 Brett Kirk Midfield
32 Amon Buchanan Forward
33 Jarred Moore Forward
34 Ryan Brabazon Midfield
36 Tim Schmidt Midfield
37 Adam Goodes Midfield, Forward
39 Heath Grundy Defender, Forward
40 Nick Smith Midfield
42 Paul Bevan Defender
43 Matthew O’Dwyer Midfield
COACH Paul Roos