2009 Sydney Swans Team

The Sydney Swans are a professional AFL team based in New South Wales and despite having won just one AFL premiership, they are still one of the most popular football clubs in the competition.

The 2009 season was not one of the best for the Swannies, as they finished 10th on the ladder and missed out on a spot in the finals. Despite the club’s poor performance that year, the 2009 Sydney Swans team still featured many great AFL players.

The 2009 Sydney Swans team was coached by former player and Australian Football Hall of Fame inductee Paul Roos, and was co-captained by Brett Kirk, Adam Goodes and Craig Bolton.

A full team list for the 2009 Swans is detailed below, but there were a number of changes from this squad to the 2010 Sydney Swans Team.

Remember, there are a range of great exotic bet types available at Ladbrokes.com.au that specifically relate to the players, so knowing the line-up of the Swans is important when you next Bet on the AFL!

Number Player Position
1 Barry Hall Forward
2 Rhyce Shaw Defender
3 Jarrad McVeigh Midfield
4 Daniel Hannebery Midfield
5 Ryan O’Keefe Midfield, Forward
6 Craig Bolton Defender
7 Brett Meredith Midfield
9 Nick Malceski Defender
11 Ed Barlow Midfield
13 Patrick Veszpremi Forward
14 Craig Bird Midfield
15 Kieran Jack Midfield
16 Darren Jolly Ruck
18 Jesse White Ruck
19 Michael O’Loughlin Forward
20 Luke Ablett Midfield
21 Leo Barry Defender
24 Jude Bolton Midfield
25 Ted Richards Defender
27 Kristin Thornton Midfield
28 Jared Crouch Midfield
29 Martin Mattner Defender
30 Lewis Roberts-Thomson Defender
31 Brett Kirk Midfield
32 Amon Buchanan Forward
33 Jarred Moore Forward
34 Ryan Brabazon Midfield
37 Adam Goodes Midfield, Forward
38 Mike Pyke Ruck
39 Heath Grundy Defender, Forward
40 Nick Smith Midfield
42 Paul Bevan Defender
43 Matthew O’Dwyer Midfield
COACH Paul Roos